Skip to main content

Welcome New Faculty

The Krieger School of Arts and Sciences welcomed a talented group of new faculty members in 2012. They each bring scholarly accomplishments to our Johns Hopkins community. Here is a sampling:

Bentley AllanBentley Allan is a new assistant professor in the Department of Political Science. He received his PhD from Ohio State University. His research interests include how scientific ideas transform international politics; international relations, organizations, and development; diplomatic history; and normative international theory.
Jorge BalatJorge Balat is a new assistant professor in the Department of Economics. He received his MA, MPhil, and PhD from Yale University after studying at the Universidad Nacional de La Plata in Buenos Aires, Argentina. His research interests center on industrial organization, microeconomics, and applied econometrics.
Marina BednyMarina Bedny is a new professor in the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences. She received her PhD in experimental psychology at the University of Pennsylvania, and held postdoctoral fellowships at MIT and Harvard Medical School. Her research focuses on how early visual experiences affect cognition.
Kristina NielsenKristina Nielsen has been given a joint appointment as assistant professor with the School of Medicine and the Mind/Brain Institute in the Krieger School. She received her PhD in physics from the Max Planck Institute in Germany. Since 2006, she has been a postdoctoral fellow at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies in California. Her research focuses on the complex networks that constitute the brain.
Anne MossAnne Moss has been appointed assistant professor in the Humanities Center. She received her PhD in Slavic languages and literatures from Stanford University. She has been at the center since 2005 as a visiting assistant professor. Her research interests include Russian Realism and Socialist Realism, film theory, and gender and feminist theory.
Nick PapageorgeNick Papageorge joins the Department of Economics as an assistant professor. His research interests include labor economics, health economics, and the economics of innovation. He received his PhD in economics from Washington University in St. Louis and his MA from Die Humboldt University in Berlin.
Elijah RobertsElijah Roberts joins the Department of Biophysics as an assistant professor. He received his PhD in biophysics and computational biology at the University of Illinois, where he also conducted postdoctoral work. His research interests are in lattice microbes, genetic switches, gene expression, and systems biology.
Steven RokitaSteven Rokita is a new professor in the Department of Chemistry. Most recently an associate professor at the University of Maryland, his research interests include the reactions of nucleic acids, electron transfer in biopolymers, and studies within bioorganic and bioinorganic chemistry. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and he earned his PhD at MIT.
Yuya SasakiYuya Sasaki is a new assistant professor in the Department of Economics. He received his PhD from Brown University, where he studied theory and application of econometrics. His research centers on dynamic panel data, endogenous nonseparable models, and nonparametric model tests by discrete instruments.
Daniel SchlozmanDaniel Schlozman is a new assistant professor in the Department of Political Science. He was previously a research fellow at the Harvard Kennedy School. He received his PhD in government and social policy from Harvard University. His primary research interest is why American social movements have or have not allied with major political parties.
Brian SmithlingBrian Smithling joins the Department of Mathematics as a new assistant professor. He was previously conducting postdoctoral work at the University of Toronto. He received his PhD from the University of Chicago. His research areas are arithmetic and algebraic geometry, including Shimura varieties and classification problems related to abelian varieties, p-divisible groups, and formal Lie groups.
L. Nandi TheunissenL. Nandi Theunissen is a new assistant professor in the Department of Philosophy. She received her PhD in philosophy from Columbia University and her MPhil from the University of Sydney. Her research centers on metaethics, normative ethics, and Kant’s practical philosophy, with a particular focus on the value of humans.