Skip to main content

Faculty Awards

Joel Andreas, Associate Professor, Sociology, received a 2017 fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies. His proposal, “Land Dispossession in Rural China and India,” was selected to the Comparative Perspectives on Chinese Culture and Society program.

Charles Bennett, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Alumni Centennial Professor, Physics and Astronomy, was named recipient of the 2017 Isaac Newton Medal and Prize by the Institute of Physics in London in recognition of research that has had a “transformative effect in cosmology.”

Lisa DeLeonardis, Austen-Stokes Associate Professor, History of Art, is recipient of the 2017-18 Charles K. Williams II Rome Prize from the American Academy in Rome for her work “A Transatlantic Response to Worlds that Shake: Jesuit Contributions to AntiSeismic Building Design in Early Modern Italy and Peru.”

Natalia Drichko, Associate Research Professor, Physics and Astronomy, is part of a group that won a $450,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to organize and run a four-year sequence of the Quantum Science Summer School meant to prepare graduate and postdoctoral students to work with a new generation of quantum technology.

Marian Feldman, Professor, History of Art, was awarded a grant from the Getty Foundation to work with a colleague in Athens on the Connecting Art Histories initiative.

Karen Fleming, Professor, Biophysics, received the 2016 Thomas E. Thompson Award from the Biophysical Society for exceptional contributions in the field of membrane structure and assembly.

Eckhart Förster, Professor, Philosophy, received the Kuno-Fischer Prize from the University of Heidelberg for his book The Twenty-Five Years of Philosophy.

Taekjip Ha, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Biophysics, is recipient of the 2018 Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single Molecule Biophysics from the Biophysical Society. The award recognizes his leadership in the development of single-molecule techniques and their application to nucleic acid processing enzymes.

Rigoberto Hernandez, Gompf Family Professor, Chemistry, is recipient of the 2017 Herty Medal from the American Chemical Society. The award recognizes him for “transforming our view of chemical dynamics in non-equilibrium environments, his creative approaches to improving diversity within the chemistry profession, and his leadership at the local and national levels of the American Chemical Society.”

Matthew Kocher, Senior Lecturer, Political Science, was given the 2017 Heinz I. Eulau Award from the American Political Science Association for the best article published in Perspectives on Politics in 2016. The article is called “Lines of Demarcation: Causation, Design-Based Inference, and Historical Research.”

Christopher Lakey, Assistant Professor, History of Art, has been named a fellow of the Harvard University Center for Italian Renaissance Studies at Villa I Tatti, Florence. His research project is Persistent Materialities: The Use of Gold Leaf in Painting, c. 1300-1600.

Barbara Landau, Dick and Lydia Todd Professor, Cognitive Science, has won a 2018 William James Fellow Award from the Association for Psychological Science. The award honors individuals for their “lifetime of significant intellectual contributions to the basic science of psychology.”

Erin Rowe, Associate Professor, History, was awarded a 2017 Summer Stipend by the National Endowment for the Humanities for her project, Devotion to African Saints in Early Modern Global Catholicism.

Lester Spence, Associate Professor, Political Science, received JHU’s Provost’s Prize for Faculty Excellence in Diversity. The award comes with a $50,000 honorarium and recognizes a full-time faculty member who has made scholarly or creative contributions related to diversity.