Skip to main content

Alumni Kudos: Spring 2020

Elliot L. Chaikof ’79 received the American Surgical Association’s 2019 Flance-Karl Award, recognizing a seminal contribution in basic laboratory research that has application to clinical surgery. He is chair of the Department of Surgery and surgeon-in-chief at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, and a professor of surgery at Harvard Medical School.

Deborah Goodman ’75 received the 2018 Discovery Award from the literary journal Bosque for her short story “Virgin Matriarch.”

Jamil Simon ’68 was awarded the 2019 Luxembourg Peace Prize in the category of Outstanding Peace Journalism, which recognizes journalists or media publications that have used their craft to contribute to peace.

Di Wang PhD ’99 was named to the Society of Scholars, the Krieger School’s honor society for its most distinguished doctoral graduates. He is distinguished professor and chair of the history department at the University of Macau.