Skip to main content

Fall 2022 Faculty Awards

Tristan Cabello, Associate Program Director and Senior Lecturer, Advanced Academic Programs, was awarded the 2022 Annual Faculty Award by the Association of Graduate Liberal Studies Programs.

Sara Castro-Klarén, Professor Emerita of Spanish, Modern Languages and Literatures, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Latin American Studies Association, Peru Section.

Debra Davenport, Lecturer, Advanced Academic Programs, is the 2022 recipient of the University Professional and Continuing Education Association’s Excellence in Teaching Award.

Lael J. Ensor-Bennett, Curator, Visual Resources Collection, History of Art, received a Nancy DeLaurier Award from the Visual Resources Association.

Chaz Firestone, Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences, was awarded the Stanton Prize by the Society for Philosophy and Psychology.

Karen Fleming, Professor, Biophysics, will receive the Biophysical Society’s 2023 Avanti Award in Lipids.

Seeing Like a Child: Inheriting the Korean War, by Clara Han, Associate Professor, Anthropology, was awarded the Association for Feminist Anthropology’s Senior Book Prize 2022.

Hahrie Han, Director, SNF Agora Institute, and Professor, Department of Political Science, was selected to join the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Rubens in Repeat: The Logic of the Copy in Colonial Latin America, by Aaron Hyman, Assistant Professor, History of Art, was awarded Best Book in Colonial Latin American Studies published from 2019–22 by the Latin American Studies Association.

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has awarded a $2 million grant to the Diaspora Solidarities Lab co-led by Jessica Marie Johnson, Associate Professor, History. Additionally, Johnson’s book Wicked Flesh: Black Women, Intimacy, and Freedom in the Atlantic World won the Berkshire Conference of Women Historians Book Prize for a first book that deals substantially with the history of women, gender, or sexuality.

Thomas Kempa, Assistant Professor, Chemistry, re-ceived the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency’s Young Faculty Award.

Rebekka Klausen, Second Decade Society Associate Professor, Chemistry, was named a recipient of the 2022 American Chemical Society’s Macro Letters/Biomacromolecules/ Macromolecules Young Investigator Award.

Casey Lurtz, Assistant Professor, History, was awarded a summer stipend from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Robert A. Moffitt, Krieger- Eisenhower Professor of Economics, was selected to join the National Academy of Sciences.

Sarah Parkinson, Aronson Assistant Professor, Political Science and International Studies, received the Best Article Award from the Middle East and North Africa Politics Organized Section of the American Political Science Association.

Ottoman Baroque: The Architectural Refashioning of Eighteenth-Century Istanbul, by Ünver Rüstem, Second Decade Society Assistant Professor, History of Art, won the 2022 Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award from the Society of Architectural Historians.

Michael Schatz, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Biology, was named among the TIME 100 most influ­ential people of 2022 for his contributions to the first complete sequencing of the human genome.

When Movements Anchor Parties: Electoral Alignments in American History, by Daniel Schlozman, Joseph and Bertha Bernstein Associate Professor, Political Science, was named one of the Five Best Books on American Political Parties by The Wall Street Journal.

V. Sara Thoi, Assistant Professor, Chemistry, was selected as a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar for 2022.

Revolution in Development: Mexico and the Governance of the Global Economy, by Christy Thornton, Assistant Professor, Sociology, received honorable mentions for the Barrington Moore Book Award, Comparative and Historical Section as well as the Immanuel Wallerstein Memorial Book Award at the 2022 American Sociological Association annual meeting.

Sarah Woodson, T.C. Jenkins Professor, Biophysics, will receive the Biophysical Society’s 2023 Ignacio Tinoco Award.

Ben Zaitchik, Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences, received a $25 million Department of Energy grant to create equitable climate solutions for people living in Baltimore City.