Skip to main content

Then and Now: The Hut


Towering arched windows have lent a sense of grandeur to the Albert D. Hutzler Reading Room since Gilman Hall first opened in 1915, even before they were replaced with the more familiar stained glass. “The Hut” originally served as Homewood’s library, whose stacks stretched five floors up the center of Gilman.


In 1930, just 15 years after Gilman Hall first opened its doors, the Hutzler Reading Room windows were replaced with stained glass in memory of Francis Thompson King, an original trustee. “The Hut’s” 19 iconic windows bear the seals of European printers from the 15th and 16th centuries, likely to signify the use of the room as a library space.

1920s photo of the Hutzler Reading Room photo of the Hutzler Reading room 2019