Skip to main content

Then & Now: JHU Gatehouse


In 1971, when this photo appeared in the Hullabaloo yearbook, football and The Writing Seminars were both briefly on the chopping block, Hopkins students took part in the Washington, D.C., May Day protests against the Vietnam War, and university president Lincoln Gordon resigned. The student-run News-Letter reported on these issues and many others from the paper’s office in the iconic Gatehouse, the 1875 stone building that once served as the entrance to Homewood estate. The Gatehouse was a caretaker’s cottage next, and subsequently housed the Department of Gas Engineering, the Camera Club, and chemical engineering labs. Over the years, at least two graduate students lived in its attic.


Following stints in the basement of Levering Hall and what is now Merrick Barn, the News-Letter moved to the Gatehouse—where it remains today—in 1965. Today’s staff numbers 35, with about 200 additional occasional contributors. The paper shifted to an online format with daily updates at the start of the pandemic but plans to reintroduce a print edition this semester, when editors-in-chief Molly Gahagen and Michelle Limpe say they expect to resume the ritual of late-night writing and editing in their beloved Gatehouse office.

1970 JHU News-Letter staff at work. 2022 JHU News-Letter staff group shot in front of gatehouse building on Homewood campus.