Skip to main content

Krieger School Alumni News Spring 2023

Alumni Kudos

Geannine L. Darby ’87, director of major gifts and clinician engagement for LifeBridge Health in Baltimore, was awarded the Career Achievement Award by the Association of Fundraising Professionals Maryland Chapter for her decades-long commitment to advancing philanthropy.

Masaaki Furusawa ’91 PhD was awarded a 2022 Algebra Prize by the Mathematical Society of Japan. Furusawa is a professor of mathematics and physics at Osaka City University.

Greg Sazima ’83 received the Gold Prize in the Mind, Body and Spirit category of the 2021 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards for his book Practical Mindfulness: A Physician’s No-Nonsense Guide to Meditation for Beginners. He is a psychiatrist in northern California and senior behavioral faculty at Stanford’s family medicine residency program.

Arthur Weinman ’67 received a 2022 Merit Design Award from the Fort Worth chapter of the American Institute of Architects for his firm’s design of the Lipscomb County Courthouse restoration in December 2021.

Alumni to Watch

Janet Barnes ’14, Nursing ’20 MS, received the Diseases Attacking the Immune SYstem (DAISY) Award from Johns Hopkins Hospital, which recognizes compassionate care provided by nurses.

The co-translation of Giovanna Cristina Vivinetto’s Dolore Minimo by Gabriella Fee ’23 MFA and Writing Seminars Associate Professor Dora Malech made the longlist for the 2023 PEN Award for Poetry in Translation.

Maya Foster ’20 received a Quad Fellowship, which supports interdis­ciplinary scientific and technological innovations. She is a PhD student in biomedical engineering at Yale University, where she is developing computational methods to understand severe mental illness.

Scotty’s Vag, a short film by Chaconne Martin-Berkowicz ’17, was chosen for South by Southwest 2023. Martin-Berkowicz is a writer and director in Los Angeles.

Nathan Mudrak ’22 BS/MS was awarded a Marshall Scholarship to pursue his doctoral degree in pediatrics at the University of Oxford.