Skip to main content

Faculty Awards

Rina Agarwala, Associate Professor, Sociology, received the Kappa Alpha Theta Fraternity’s Outstanding Faculty Member Award for the 2017-18 academic year.

A book by Laurence Ball, Professor and Chair, Economics, The Fed and Lehman Brothers: Setting the Record Straight on a Financial Disaster, was selected as one of the “Best Books of 2018: Economics” by the Financial Times.

Stephen Fried, Assistant Professor, Chemistry, was awarded a $1 million grant from the Human Frontiers in Science Program. Fried and colleagues will investigate the question of how amino acids make life possible, and ask “what if other amino acids were used instead?”

Rachel Green, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Biology; Jacques Neefs, Professor Emeritus, German and Romance Languages and Literatures; and William Rowe, John and Diane Cooke Professor of History, were selected for membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Aaron Hyman, Assistant Professor, History of Art, has been awarded the Association of Print Scholars 2018 Publication Grant to support a forthcoming publication on “Washing the Archive: Indigenous Knowledge, European Prints, and Colonial Histories of Latin America.”

Lawrence Jackson, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of English and History; and Matthew Porterfield, Lecturer, Film and Media Studies, have been named 2019 Guggenheim Fellows, a prestigious distinction that recognizes achievements and exceptional promise. Jackson’s fellowship will support the development of a monograph project and Porterfield’s will support his work in film and video.

Martha S. Jones, Society of Black Alumni Presidential Professor and Professor of History, received the 2019 Liberty Legacy Foundation Award from the Organization of American Historians. The award is given annually for the best book on the civil rights struggle from the beginnings of the nation to the present. Jones was honored for Birthright Citizens: A History of Race and Rights in Antebellum America.

Thomas Kempa, Assistant Professor, Chemistry, received the NSF CAREER award. The NSF’s most prestigious award provides five years of funding to support the research and educational goals of early career faculty.

Naveeda Khan, Associate Professor, Veena Das, Krieger-Eisenhower Professor, Anthropology, and Jeremy Greene, Professor, SOM, received a 2019-21 Sawyer Seminar grant from The Andrew Mellon Foundation to hold an extended conversation on “Precision and Uncertainty in a World of Data.”

Rebekka Klausen, Assistant Professor, Chemistry, was named the Second Decade Society Professor. The Second Decade Society is the alumni leadership development organization for the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences.

Michael Levien, Assistant Professor, Sociology, was awarded a Senior Research Fellowship from the American Institute of Indian Studies for his project “Land Mafias in Liberalizing India.”

Alice McDermott, Richard A. Macksey Professor for Distinguished Teaching in the Humanities, has been awarded the Prix Femina, France’s award for the best foreign novel of the year, for her book The Ninth Hour. Established in 1904, the Prix Femina is awarded to the best French and foreign novels.

A book co-authored by Katrina Bell McDonald, Associate Professor, Sociology, Marriage in Black: The Pursuit of Married Life among American-born and Immigrant Blacks, has been selected as a Featured Author Book by the Association for the Study of African American Life and History.