Skip to main content

Faculty Awards

Vibrant Matter: A Political Ecology of Things, by Jane Bennett, Andrew W. Mellon Professor in Humanities, Department of Political Science, was named a book of the decade by Duke University Press.

Emanuele Berti, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, was selected to present the annual Buhl Lecture at Carnegie Mellon University.  

Danielle Evans, Assistant Professor, The Writing Seminars, has been awarded a creative writing fellowship in prose by the National Endowment for the Arts

Mary Favret, Professor, Department of English, was awarded the Keats-Shelley Distinguished Scholar Award from the Modern Language Association in recognition of her “career-long excellence in scholarship” of the Romantic period. 

Karen Fleming, Professor, Department of Biophysics, was selected as a Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar for the 2020-21 academic year. Scholars typically travel to more than 100 colleges and universities, spending two days on each campus.  

Rigoberto Hernandez, Gompf Family Professor of Chemistry, was named a Fellow in the Royal Society of Chemistry.  

Sarah Hörst, Assistant Professor, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, was awarded the 2020 Early Career Award from the Laboratory Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society

Markup Bodies,” by Jessica Johnson, Assistant Professor, Department of History, was named one of Duke University Press’s top 10 most read articles of 2019.

Martha S. Jones, Society of Black Alumni Presidential Professor and Professor of History, won the 2019 American Historical Association’s Littleton-Griswold Prize in U.S. law and society for her book Birthright Citizens: A History of Race and Rights in Antebellum America. In addition, Jones’ All Bound Up Together: The Woman Question in African American Public Culture, 1830-1900 was named to ZORA magazine’s list of the 100 greatest books ever written by African American women. 

The American Astronomical Society announced its first class of AAS Fellows, including the Department of Physics and Astronomy’s Marc Kamionkowski, William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor; Adam Riess, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Thomas J. Barber Professor of Physics and Astronomy, and Krieger Eisenhower Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Joseph Silk, Research Professor and Homewood Professor of Physics and Astronomy; and Rosemary Wyse, Alumni Centennial Professor. 

Mitchell B. Merback, Department of the History of Art, was named the inaugural Arnell and Everett Land Professor in February. 

Chikako Mese, Professor, Department of Mathematics, was named a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society for her contributions to the theory of harmonic maps and their applications, and her service to the mathematical community. 

Colin Norman, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, was selected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a lifetime distinction that recognizes outstanding contributions to science and technology. 

Anand Pandian, Professor, Department of Anthropology, is the recipient of the 2019 Infosys Prize in the Social Sciences in recognition of his “brilliantly imaginative work on ethics, selfhood and the creative process.” 

Lawrence M. Principe, Drew Professor of the Humanities; Director, Department of History of Science and Technology, was awarded the HIST Award of the History of Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society. The international award recognizes outstanding achievement in the history of chemistry.  

Emily Riehl, Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics, was awarded the university’s $250,000 President’s Frontier Award for her work in category theory.  

V. Sara Thoi, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, was awarded a National Science Foundation CAREER award to study the redox behavior of metal-organic frameworks for energy storage devices. She was also selected for the Women in Engineering Program at the University of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia.  

Christy Thornton, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, was appointed Fellow at the Quincy Institute

David Yarkony, Chair and D. Mead Johnson Professor of Chemistry, received the American Chemical Society’s 2020 award in theoretical chemistry for his work “demonstrating the significance and properties of conical intersections of two or more adiabatic electronic states.”