Skip to main content

Faculty Awards

N. Peter Armitage, Professor , and  Collin Broholm, Gerhard H.  Dieke  Professor,  Department of Physics and Astronomy, will each receive $1.6 million over five years from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation to explore aspects of quantum materials.  

Sanchita Balachandran,  Senior Lecturer, Department of Near Eastern Studies, received  the Iris Award for Outstanding Mid-Career Scholar from the Bard Graduate Center.  

Chia-Ling Chien,  Jacob L. Hain Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, received the 2020 Achievement Award of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers  Magnetics Society.  

The Western Political Science Association inaugurated an award named for  William E. Connolly, Krieger-Eisenhower Professor, Department of Political Science, to recognize the best political theory paper presented at its annual meetings.  

Stefanie DeLuca,  James Coleman Professor of Sociology and Social Policy,  was  elected to the Sociological Research Association,  an honor that recognizes her as one of the most successful researchers on urban poverty, race, housing,  and educational inequality. 

Stephen Fried, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, was awarded a NIH Director’s New Innovator Award, which recognizes “high-risk, high-reward researchers.” 

Rigoberto Hernandez,  Gompf  Family Professor of Chemistry, received an IMPACT Award from the  Research Corporation for Science Advancement.  He and Howard Fairbrother,  Professor, Department of Chemistry,  received a five-year grant from the  National Science Foundation targeting sustainable nanotechnology design. 

Aaron M. Hyman, Assistant Professor, Department of the History of Art, received  the Carl & Marilynn  Thoma  Art Foundation’s Marilynn  Thoma  Postdoctoral  Fellowship, and an American Council of Learned Societies  Fellowship,  for a  book examining the unusual quantity of written words appearing on artworks created from 1550 to  1750 in present-day Spain, Mexico, Colombia, and Peru. 

Jessica Marie Johnson, Assistant  Professor, Department of History, was named a  W. E. B. Du Bois Research Institute Fellow at the Hutchins Center for African & African American Research at Harvard University to work on  Dark Codex: History, Blackness, and the Digital.  

Martha S. Jones,  Society of Black Alumni Presidential Professor of History, was  included in  Diverse: Issues in Higher Education’s list of 35 leading women in higher education in 2020. 

Kenneth  Karlin,  Ira Remsen Professor of Chemistry,  won the 2021  American Chemical Society  Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry.    

Richard Katz, Professor, Department of Political Science, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from  the American Political Science Association’s  Conference Group on Italian Politics in recognition of his theoretical and empirical comparative research. 

Rebekka Klausen,  Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, is the 2021 recipient of the American Chemical Society Award in Pure Chemistry, which  recognizes a researcher within 10 years of their terminal degree who has accomplished research of unusual merit. 

Michael Levien, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, won the International Studies Association’s Global Development Studies Book Award. 

Mauro  Maggioni, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Department of Mathematics, was awarded  a Simons Fellowship from the Simons Foundation.  

Silvia Montiglio, Gildersleeve Professor in Classics, received a grant from the Loeb Classical Library Foundation to complete her edition and translation of Heliodrorus’s Aethiopica

Nadia Nurhussein, Associate Professor, Department of English, was named a 2020 finalist for the Pauli Murray Book Prize in Black Intellectual History from the African American Intellectual History Society.  

Surjeet Rajendran, Associate Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, received two Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Fundamental Physics Innovation Awards.   

Emily Riehl, Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics, received the 2021 Joan & Joseph Birman Research Prize in Topology and Geometry. 

Adam Riess, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Thomas J. Barber Professor of Physics and Astronomy, received the 2020 Chalonge-de Vega medals from the International School of Astrophysics.  

Race and the Undeserving Poor: From Abolition to Brexit, by Robbie Shilliam, Professor, Department of Political Science, was named one of 12 “anti-racism books everybody should read” by The Sunday Times (U.K.). 

Joanne Cavanaugh Simpson, Lecturer,  The Writing Seminars, was awarded a grant from the Pulitzer Center to support her nonfiction book research. 

Alexander Szalay, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, received the 2020 Viktor Ambartsumian International Science Prize.