Skip to main content

Spring 2022 Faculty Awards

Charles L. Bennett, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Alumni Centennial Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Gilman Scholar, received the Rumford Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. 

Immigrant Incorporation in East Asian Democracies by Erin Aeran Chung, Charles D. Miller Associate Professor of East Asian Politics, Political Science, received the 2021 Research Excellence Award from the Korea Ministry of Education and the National Research Foundation of Korea.  

Karen Fleming, Professor, Biophysics, was named a Fellow of the Biophysical Society.  

Stephen Fried, Assistant Professor, Chemistry, won a Cottrell Scholar Award from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA) and two Scialog awards from the RCSA and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation.  

David Goldberg, Professor, Chemistry, was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.  

Taekjip Ha, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Biophysics, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine.  

Niloofar Haeri, Professor, Anthropology, received the 2021 Middle East Studies Association’s Fatema Mernissi Book Award for Say What Your Longing Heart Desires: Women, Prayer, and Poetry in Iran. 

Landscape History of Hadramawt: The Roots of Agriculture in Southern Arabia Project 1998–2008, co-edited by Michael Harrower, Associate Professor of Archaeology, Near Eastern Studies, received the 2022 Anna Marguerite McCann Award for Fieldwork Reports from the Archaeological Institute of America.  

Wicked Flesh: Black Women, Intimacy, and Freedom in the Atlantic World by Jessica Marie Johnson, Assistant Professor, History, won the Lora Romero First Book Prize from the American Studies Association and the Wesley-Logan Prize in African diaspora history from the American Historical Association and the Association for the Study of African American Life and History.   

Martha S. Jones, Society of Black Alumni Presidential Professor, Professor of History, Professor at the SNF Agora Institute, was named one of The Baltimore Sun’s 25 Black Marylanders to Watch.  

Kishore Kuchibhotla, Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences, received an NSF CAREER award. 

The Origin and Character of God: Ancient Israelite Religion through the Lens of Divinity by Theodore J. Lewis, Blum-Iwry Professor of Near Eastern Studies, received the 2021 Best Book Relating to the Hebrew Bible award from the Biblical Archaeology Society. 

MFA candidate Gabriella Fee and Dora Malech, Associate Professor, The Writing Seminars, won the Malinda A. Markham Translation Prize from Saturnalia Books for their co-translation of Giovanna Cristina Vivinetto’s debut collection, Dolore Minimo.  

The Spanish Disquiet: The Biblical Natural Philosophy of Benito Arias Montano by María M. Portuondo, Professor, History of Science and Technology, won the History of Science Society’s 2021 Pfizer Award.  

Brenda Rapp, Professor, Cognitive Science, was elected to the Society of Experimental Psychologists. 

Emily Riehl, Associate Professor, Mathematics, was named a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society. 

Shannon Robinson, Lecturer, The Writing Seminars, won an Independent Artist Award from the Maryland State Arts Council. 

Modernism and the Meaning of Corporate Persons by Lisa Siraganian, Associate Professor and J. R. Herbert Boone Chair in Humanities, Comparative Thought and Literature, won the Modern Language Association of America’s Matei Calinescu Prize and the Modernist Studies Association’s Book Prize.  

Danielle Speller, Assistant Professor, Physics and Astronomy, received a 2022 Sloan Research Fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.  

Alexander S. Szalay, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Physics and Astronomy, with Kimmel Cancer Center’s Janis Taube received a 2021 Life Sciences Award at the Falling Walls Science Summit.  

Revolution in Development: Mexico and the Governance of the Global Economy by Christy Thornton, Assistant Professor, Sociology, won the 2022 Luciano Tomassini Latin American International Relations Book Award from the Latin American Studies Association and was selected as one of the Best Scholarly Books of 2021 by The Chronicle of Higher Education.