Skip to main content

Krieger Faculty Awards Spring 2023

Alessandro Angelini, Assistant Professor, Anthropology, received a Hunt Postdoctoral Fellowship from the Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research.

Emanuele Berti, Professor, Physics and Astronomy, received the 2023 Richard A. Isaacson Award in Gravitational- Wave Science from the American Physical Society.

Xin Chen, Professor, Biology, was elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science in recognition of her contributions to the field of epigenetics.

The Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials published a special issue in honor of Chia-Ling Chien, Professor, Physics and Astronomy.

François Furstenberg, Professor, History, was awarded a fellowship by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

A multi-university research team including Sarah Hörst, Associate Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences, was awarded a Scialog fellowship by the Research Corporation for Science Advancement, the Heising-Simons Foundation, the Kavli Foundation, and NASA.

Ru Chih Huang, Research Professor, Biology, was selected for membership in the National Academy of Inventors, the highest professional distinction awarded to academic inventors.

Rubens in Repeat: The Logic of the Copy in Colonial Latin America by Aaron M. Hyman, Assistant Professor, History of Art, was awarded honorable mention for the Association for Latin American Art’s Arvey Foundation Book Award and honorable mention for the Renaissance Society of America’s Phyllis Goodhart Gordan Book Prize for Best Book in Renaissance Studies.

Martha S. Jones, Professor, History, was appointed by President Biden to the Permanent Committee for the Oliver Wendell Holmes Devise, which is charged with documenting and disseminating the history of the U.S. Supreme Court.

Christian Kaiser, Associate Professor, Biology, was named a 2022 Innovation Fund investigator by the Pew Charitable Trusts.

Juliette Lecomte, Professor, Biophysics, was elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Fei Lu, Assistant Professor, Mathematics, was awarded a National Science Foundation CAREER grant for his project “Learning kernels in operators from high-dimensional data: scalable algorithms, theory, and applications.”

“Codifying Credit: Everyday Contracting and the Spread of the Civil Code in Nineteenth- Century Mexico” by Casey Marina Lurtz, Assistant Professor, History; Co-chair, Latin American, Caribbean, and Latinx Studies, was awarded the Anne Fleming Article Prize 2022 by the American Society for Legal History.

The co-translation of Giovanna Cristina Vivinetto’s Dolore Minimo by Dora Malech, Associate Professor, The Writing Seminars, and Gabriella Fee ’23 MFA made the longlist for the 2023 PEN Award for Poetry in Translation.

Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski, Homewood Professor, Political Science, was named one of six Baltimoreans who changed everything by Baltimore Magazine.

Cynthia Moss, Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences, was named a 2023–24 Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar.

Leah Wright Rigueur, SNF Agora Institute Associate Professor of History, received The Podcast Academy’s “Best Host” award at the 2023 Ambies for “Reclaimed: The Story of Mamie Till-Mobley.”

Yiannis Sakellaridis, Professor, Mathematics, was selected as a fellow of the American Mathematical Society for his contributions to representation theory and the theory of automorphic forms.

Glenn M. Schwartz, Professor, Near Eastern Studies, received the P. E. MacAllister Field Archaeology Award from the American Schools of Overseas Research.

Lisa Siraganian, Professor, Comparative Thought and Literature, was awarded a fellowship by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Bruce Snider, Associate Teaching Professor, The Writing Seminars, received a 2023 Literature Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Christopher Sogge, Professor, Mathematics, was awarded a fellowship from the Simons Foundation to continue his work on harmonic analysis on Riemannian manifolds.

Danielle Speller, Assistant Professor, Physics and Astronomy, received a 2022 Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering from the David and Lucile Packard Foundation.

Jewish Primitivism by Samuel Spinner, Assistant Professor, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures, received the Modern Language Association of America’s Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Studies in Germanic Languages and Literatures.

V. Sara Thoi, Assistant Professor, Chemistry, received the 2023 Rising Star Award from the American Chemical Society’s Women Chemists Committee for her work in energy conversion and storage.

Christy Thornton, Assistant Professor, Sociology, was named a 2023 Kluge Fellow at the Library of Congress.

Ethan Vishniac, Research Professor, Physics and Astronomy, was named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for advancing our understanding of magnetic fields that shape the cosmos on multiple scales.

Sarah Woodson, Professor, Biophysics, was named a 2022 Innovation Fund investigator by the Pew Charitable Trusts.

Ziquan Zhuang, Associate Professor, Mathematics, received a 2023 Sloan Research Fellowship for his work on algebraic geometry.